Southwest Alberta is comprised of 17 municipalities: six larger towns of 2,000 to 4,000 in population, three towns of a smaller population, four villages, two Municipal districts and one county. The population of the whole region, which predominantly rural, is approxiamately 37,000.  A strong economy is founded upon agriculture , resource extraction, renewable energy production and tourism. 

The residents of the region enrich the fabric and quality of life and community. They share a relaxed pace of life and the enjoyment of a natural landscape surrounded by mountains and lakes 12 months of the year.

Town of Cardston

Cardston is located in a high visibility location right on a main throughway that is minutes from Waterton Lakes National Park and the U.S. border. 

Learn More

Town of Claresholm

Home to 3758 residents, the town of Claresholm is rooted in farming and ranching, and celebrates its economic role as an agricultural service centre for the past 130 years. 

Learn More

The Municipality of Crowsnest Pass

Crowsnest Pass is located in, and named for, the Crowsnest Pass of the Rocky Mountains in Southwest Alberta.Crowsnest Pass

Learn More

Town Fort Macleod

Fort Macleod is a welcoming, family friendly, vibrant community with a multitude of opportunities for everyone. The town actively pursues new development, and is ideally situated for economic success. 

Learn More

Town of Nanton

The Town of Nanton is a dynamic community with an ideal environment for living, working and doing business.

Learn More

Town of Pincher Creek

The Town of Pincher Creek is located in southwest Alberta where the prairies meet the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

Learn More